Visit the Citadel
Terra Nova Visitor Center
Discover 2000 years of European urban and military history through the history of the city of Namur and the Citadel.
Guided tour of the underground passages
Discover the story of the passages along a 450-meter guided tour: construction techniques, use, how the soldiers lived there at the time, and more. 3D animations, projections, sound effects.
Commented tourist train tour
Aboard the tourist train, discover the fortifications in a picturesque way and admire the magnificent panoramic views of the city and the Meuse Valley.
The Citadel in pictures
The Citadel site
Le Château de Namur
This hotel restaurant, The Castle of Namur, was built in the inter-war period to replace a previous hotel that burnt down in 1914. It currently welcomes students of the Hotel School of the Province of Namur, located nearby, to learn their trade. You can spend the night here, eat or just have a drink. Around it you’ll enjoy the scents of the Jardin des senteurs, open all year round.Read more
Queen Fabiola Amusement Park
At the top of the Citadel of Namur, in a protected green setting, the Parc Attractif Reine Fabiola offers many games for children:
Large playground (castles, swings, suspension bridge, balance games, 11-meter high water slide, etc.) with an area reserved for 3-6 year olds and a 'Galaxy' area for 7-12 year olds. Mini-golf, electric cars, go-karts with pedals, trampolines, giant chess game, bouncy castles and more. Barbecue area (only by reservation) and picnic. There is also a cafeteria with a terrace. Here you can enjoy a wide assortment of drinks, ice creams and snacks.
Stadium and Open Air Theatre
The Citadel of Namur was partially demilitarized in 1891. The City of Namur, with the support of King Leopold II, developed plans to transform the fortress into a tourist spot. Brussels architect Georges Hobé was commissioned to construct a dual-purpose building that integrates a stadium and an open-air theater (Stade des Jeux and Théâtre de Verdure). Many events have been organized there, including bullfights, military parades, sports tournaments and theatre plays.
Terra Nova Visitor Centre
The barracks, built under the Dutch regime, provided accommodation for 1,200 men - soldiers and non-commissioned officers on the ground floor, officers upstairs. It underwent several modifications thereafter, including the construction of an additional floor. The Belgian army left the place in 1977 and the former barracks today are the nerve center of the Citadel. This is where the tourist information center and the Terra Nova Visitor Center are located. Here also is the departure point of the guided underground tour and the tour by tourist train.Read more
Artillery Workshop - Parfumerie Guy Delforge
This is where the gunpowder and projectiles were made. At the end of the 19th century, the building was raised with an extra floor to accommodate a military dovecote. Pigeons provided communication during wartime. In 1951 the building took its present form to become a mess (canteen) for officers. Since 1990, it has served as a workshop for the Namur perfumer Guy Delforge..Read more
The Old Forge
As its name suggests, this building contains a forge of which the imposing sheet iron hood has been preserved. In this mill the military could autonomously make and repair the metal pieces and instruments that they needed. It currently hosts a Namur ceramist, Véronique Henri, who realizes and sells her works there.
La Forge is open Saturdays and Sundays, 1 to 4 pm. On other days, by appointment at +32 (0) 472 10 24 60.
Searching for Utopia - The Turtle
This sculpture titled 'In Search of Utopia' was created by the Antwerp artist, Jan Fabre. Affectionately called the 'tortoise' by the people of Namur, the work questions the societal role of the artist who must be at the forefront and pursue dreams that may be somewhat crazy.Read more
Logis des Comtes de Namur
In the Middle Ages this was the location of a high building that housed the residence of the Counts of Namur. By its position, the power of the counts was there for all to see. It allowed the noble rulers to monitor the surroundings and the inhabitants of the city. Some vestiges of the 12th and 13th centuries are still visible in the cellars (visit by reservation). The current building dates from the 19th century and housed a military bakery and a carpentry mill before being turned into a restoration workshop.
Corps de Garde - Guardhouse
This building is a rather recent construction in the history of the Citadel. It served as a guardhouse, equipment store and maintenance office, and is currently occupied by the administrative offices of the Citadel Service of the City of Namur and the Citadel Animation Committee, the non-profit organization responsible for the tourist activities of the site. This place, not accessible to the public, is also used for professional meetings.
Before being installed on the site, the Pavilion was the symbol of Belgium at the Universal Exhibition in Milan in 2015. Designed by Patrick Genard.
Come and have a walk on the floor of the Pavilion, place of the digital world in Namur. On the programme : expositions, playground, workshops, …
Here, the cable car station is located on the Citadel’s Esplanade.
Climb aboard to travel to the city center (Place Maurice Servais) and discover the city’s various tourist sights.
Descent time: 3 minutes.
Climb aboard the cable car to reach the Citadel of Namur easily from the city center (Place Maurice Servais).
Take in the breathtaking aerial views during your journey before discovering everything this unique site has to offer.
Ascent time: 3 minutes.
Le Fief de Namur
The restaurant welcomes you to the space of the Château des Comtes.
Pleasant terrace, brasserie-style catering, local products.